logo Leipzig


A Tradition of Crossing Boundaries
The Universität Leipzig has been dedicated to the ideal of UNIVERSITAS LITTERARUM since its establishment in 1409, being the second oldest university in Germany and uniting a wide range of academic disciplines (14 faculties), and is increasingly focused on interdisciplinary cooperation. There are more than 200 academic courses of study offered. With more than 25.000 students, the Universität Leipzig is Saxony's second largest university.

Diversity is one of the trademarks of the University. The Universität Leipzig is proud of its extensive international contacts, internationally attractive courses of study and a large number of international students. Students from around 140 countries are present in lectures and seminars, and help the University to create an educational institution that extends beyond the boundaries of nationality to be a European institution.
With the foundation of the Research Academy Leipzig (RAL) in 2006, the Universität Leipzig intends to advance its International Doctorate Programmes as the basis of its research strategy and the promotion of young scientists. The RAL is organised into three graduate centres which developed from the top-level research areas in mathematics/computer science and natural sciences; life sciences; humanities and social sciences.

As a university city, Leipzig shows itself to be a charming, student-friendly metropolis located in the heart of Germany. Leipzig is also a lively centre of the fine arts, as evidenced by the famous Gewandhaus Orchestra, the boy choir “Thomaner”, as well as many theatres and museums. And places to dance and party… 


History, Art and Oriental Studies
Social Sciences and Philosophy
Economics and Management (incl. Civil Engineering)
Sports Science
Medicine/University Hospital
Mathematics and Computer Science
Biosciences, Pharmacy and Psychology
Physics and Earth Science
Chemistry and Mineralogy
Veterinary Medicine

Contact information for students

Incoming students

Director: Dr. Svend Poller
T: 0049 341 9732020

Contact person for incoming ERASMUS students:
Christiane Schmidt
T: 0049 341 9732023 

Contact person for the student exchange under bilateral university agreements:
Jane Moros
T: 0049 341 9732032

Outgoing students Ines Remer
T: 0049 341 9732022



Utrecht Network Summer Schools

The Utrecht Network is running two summer schools in 2015 - Professional English (Hull) and Liberty Equality and Fraternity - with an emphasis on fraternity or solidarity (Antwerp).
Read more »

Utrecht Network Young Researchers Grant

A special Utrecht Network grant of €1,000 is available for students (Master/PhD) who are not eligible for other grants (like ERASMUS). Deadline for applications is 15 October each year.
Read more »


Utrecht Network
Executive Secretariat

Phone: +44 1482 466917

Post address
Utrecht Network
c/o University of Hull